The Internet

The Internet

By In Blog On February 12, 2016



Ego Death


(Columbia Records; June 30th, 2015)


(Photo credit: Jabari Jacobs)


(Columbia Records; New York, NY – June 2nd, 2015) – THE INTERNET – the Los Angeles-based, R&B/soul band fronted by Syd and Matt Martians – will release their third album, Ego Death, on Columbia Records on June 30th, 2015.  The album’s first song, a sultry, skittering swirl of a song entitled “Special Affair,” has premiered today via The Fader – PRESS HERE to listen to it.


But before we talk about that, let’s get a few facts straight:

THE INTERNET began as two people – Syd and Matt.  Syd taught herself how to record, engineer, and produce at age 15.  She also sings, imbuing every song with a sultry, mellifluous, quiet power.  Matt produces and plays synths.   She’s now 23; he’s now 26.  Like all post-modern relationships, the duo initially met on Myspace in 2008, only to meet in-person three years later.


THE INTERNET have released two albums previously – 2011’s Purple Naked Ladies, and 2012’s Feel Good.


THE INTERNET branched off from the Odd Future collective and started their own band in 2011.  Syd had been writing music since she was small; she put this on hold to become OF’s DJ and producer, and picked her songs back up in 2011 to make her first full-length album with Matt.


—When they play live, THE INTERNET is a band – a six-person outfit whose youngest member is 17.   They began playing as a full band in order to tour behind Feel Good, and the band members all contributed their talents to THE INTERNET’s forthcoming album.


Now that we’ve gotten that out of the way, let’s talk about Ego Death:

Ego Death is THE INTERNET’s most evolved album to date, featuring guest appearances from the likes of Janelle Monae, Tyler, the Creator, and Vic Mensa.


—The band says Ego Death is about “being vulnerable and honest.  It’s about us growing up as a band and as individuals, and the challenges we’re facing and learning from.  It’s about us acknowledging our egos and the egos around us, and using them the best way we know how.”


Ego Death was recorded in the band’s hometown of Los Angeles.  The album is a heady mix of confessions and come-ons, shiny Rhodes keyboard glimmers, chugging drums, slinking bass lines, and Syd’s honeyed voice anchoring the mix.  It’s a record that connects the dots between Digable Planets, Erykah Badu’s Baduizm, the warm, inviting breezes of the West Coast, and the stories that only happen very late at night or very early in the morning, all played by musicians who are carrying the soul torch for the new generation.


PRESS HERE to pre-order Ego Death now.


Ego Death Tracklisting:

  1. Get Away
  2. Gabby
  3. Under Control
  4. Go With It
  5. Just Sayin-iTried
  6. For The World
  7. Girl
  8. Special Affair
  9. Somthings Missing
  10. Partner In Crime Part Three
  11. Penthouse Cloud
  12. Palace Curse


Ego Death Cover Art:



Follow The Internet:




For more information, please contact:

Jen Appel / Kasturi Shan

212.246.2640 /


Kimberly Harris, Columbia Records


About the Author


Leave a comment